English tips – How to talk about yourself


Here are our top tips for talking about yourself in an exam.

Do:

  • Think about the types of topics and questions you may be asked before the exam. School, family, free time, daily routines and future plans are common topics.
  • Practise answering simple questions about yourself. Work with a friend to practise or record yourself and listen to the recording.
  • Listen carefully to the questions. If you don’t understand the question, ask your teacher to repeat it.
  • Give complete answers in full sentences.
  • Look at the examiner. His/her face may tell you when you’ve said enough and he/she is ready for the next question.

Don’t:

  • Memorise your answers. It’s good to have ideas ready, but it’s better not to memorise long replies to typical questions.
  • Just reply with ‘yes’ or ‘no’.
  • Panic if you are asked an unexpected question. Take a few seconds to think before you answer it.

Here are some examples of things you can say about yourself:

My name’s …
I’m from … / I live in …
I was born in …
I’m … years old.
I go to … school.
I like … because …
I don’t like … because …
In my free time / After school, I …
My best friends are … because …
My favourite (school subject, actor, pop group, sport) is … because …
I have … brothers and sisters.
In the future, I’d like to … because …

source and video

Leave a Reply

