Conditional Sentences / If-Clauses Type I, II and III


Conditional Sentences are also known as Conditional Clauses or If Clauses. They are used to express that the action in the main clause (without if) can only take place if a certain condition (in the clause with if) is fulfilled. There are three types of Conditional Sentences.

Conditional Sentence Type 1

→ It is possible and also very likely that the condition will be fulfilled.

Form: if + Simple Presentwill-Future

Example: If I find her address, I’ll send her an invitation.

more on Conditional Sentences Type I ►

Conditional Sentence Type 2

→ It is possible but very unlikely, that the condition will be fulfilled.

Form: if + Simple PastConditional I (= would + Infinitive)

Example: If I found her address, I would send her an invitation.

more on Conditional Sentences Type II ►

Conditional Sentence Type 3

→ It is impossible that the condition will be fulfilled because it refers to the past.

Form: if + Past PerfectConditional II (= would + have + Past Participle)

Example: If I had found her address, I would have sent her an invitation.

more on Conditional Sentences Type III ►

Exceptions

Sometimes Conditional Sentences Type I, II and III can also be used with other tenses.

more on Conditional Sentences used with other tenses ►

Exercises on Conditional Sentences

Conditional Sentence Type 1

Conditional Sentence Type 2

Conditional Sentence Type 3

Mixed Exercises on Conditional Sentences

Exceptions

Tests on Conditional Sentences

Leave a Reply

